top of page



Universal Edition    Works 

Victoria Borisova-Ollas is a major Swedish composer, who has over the years received a number of prestigious prizes, beginning with the Masterprize International Competition for Orchestral Composition where she came second in 1998, an Award of the Royal Swedish Academy for her Symphony No. 1 in 2005, an Award of the Swedish Music Publishers Association for The Ground Beneath Her Feet in 2008, the Hilding Rosenberg Prize of the Swedish Composers’ Association in 2009, and many others since.


In 2011, Borisova-Ollas became the first woman ever to win the Swedish Christ Johnson Prize for Composition from the Swedish Royal Academy of Music. The prize was awarded for her clarinet concerto Golden Dances of the Pharaohs.


Her critically acclaimed music is popular with audiences and is widely performed all around the world by orchestras such as London Symphony Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, Wiener Radio Symphony Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra (Tokyo), Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Duesseldorf Symphony Orchestra, Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Bern Symphony Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Swedish Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and by other orchestras, ensembles and performers. Her works have been broadcasted by Swedish Television, BBC Radio 3, Swedish Radio P2 and by other broadcasting companies in Finland, Russia, USA, Slovenia, Germany, Canada, and other countries.


She works in a wide variety of musical genres which include chamber, choral, instrumental, orchestral, string orchestral, music for stage and theatre, opera, and ballet.


Borisova-Ollas is member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Music. The majority of her works are published by Universal Edition, Vienna; other publishers are Novello & Co (Music Sales Classical), Gehrmans Musikförlag, ABRSM Publishing, and Svensk Musik/Swedish Music Information Center.

April 2024. Not to be altered without permission.

Upcoming and Recent Performances (selected list)

20, 22, 24, 26 February 2024, In a Word Unspoken. Minnesota, Le Quatuor International de Saxophones

11 November 2023, Open Ground. Magdeburgische Philharmonie with Paweł Popławski MORE

11 October 2023, Creation of the Hymn (UK premiere). Ensemble 10:10, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic MORE

7-8 October 2023, Angelus. Munich Philharmonic Orchestra with Andrew Manze, Isarphilharmonie Munchen MORE

4-5 May 2023, Angelus. Bilbao Symphony Orchestra with Shiyeon Sung, Bilbao

3 March 2023, Violin Concerto 'A Portrait of A Lady by Swan Lake'. BBC Symphony Orchestra, Tessa Lark as soloist, Clemens Schuldt conductor, Barbican

11-11 February 2022, Angelus. Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra with Johannes Gustavsson MORE

October 2022, The Kingdom of Silence. Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra, Heidelberg

23 April 2022, Angelus. Charlottesville Symphony Orchestra with Karen Kamensek

20 January 2022, The Kingdom of Silence. London Philharmonic Orchestra with Carina Canellakis

bottom of page